Meet the people who make our team so special.

We wouldn’t be much of a team without the many people who put a great deal of their time and effort into the UBR project. They make sure the car gets built and tested on time and they’re just some of the faces behind our many successes so far.

UBR23 team - season 2019/2020


Team Principal


Technical Director


Head of Media

Yuan Kong

Head of Electronics

Conal Hughes

Engine Systems Design Engineer

Rachael Ward-Kenyon

Engine Test Cell Engineer

Benjamin Nightingale

Traction Control Development Engineer

David Owen

Control Systems Engineer

Liam Ashcroft

Head of Drivetrain


Drivetrain Engineer

Sophie Laing

Drivetrain Engineer

George Betts

Gearbox Development Engineer

Di Wu

Head of Vehicle Dynamics

Elizabeth Myers

Vehicle Dynamics Engineer

Michael Okeke

Vehicle Dynamics Engineer

Jake O'Sullivan

Vehicle Dynamics Development Engineer

Joseph Chamberlain

Head of Aerodynamics

Nicole Sharples

Aerodynamics Development Engineer

Yunjie Yu

Aerodynamics Design Engineer

James Zhou

Aerodynamics Design Engineer


Head of Chassis

James Wilkins

Chassis R&D Engineer

Sam Lowe

Chassis R&D Engineer

Rayyan Jamil

Performance Engineer

Ed Berwick

Chassis Development Engineer

Katya Witney

Head of Statics

Rory Smith

Head of Brakes

UBR22 team - season 2018/2019

Andrew Evans

Team Leader

Samuel McLean

Head of Chassis

Nathan Pendery

Head of Powertrain

Matthew Wright

Vehicle Dynamics R&D

Nicholas Taylor

Drivetrain R&D

Tomas Perversi

Materials R&D

Hannah Swinbourne

Project Manager

Shaun Young

Head of Aerodynamics

Eric Lim

Lead Aerodynamicist

James Davies

Lead Designer

Biagio Piccirillo

Powertrain R&D

Jack Ryall-Aston